RaveAlert – Telstar – 1992

Posted: August 1, 2012 in Dance Music, Electronic Music
Tags: , , ,

OK, so I know what you’re thinking, not exactly a shining example to start a new blog with but hey! it was the early 90’s and trying to keep things in some kind of rough chronological order this is possibly my oldest piece, is it really 20 years old?!

Although RaveAlert is showing its age (the title for starters!) there are some strong tracks on here. If you can listen to the opening track Sesame’s Treat without smiling then there’s no helping you, Rave Alert the title track is still a good listen now, On A Ragga Tip still gets played on pirate and some mainstream radio stations, Temple Of Dreams changed my expectations at the time of what could be done with the sound, Hurt You So has that early 90’s sound which is used ironically today but no this was the real thing! Trip To The Moon – amazing and a little creepy and the end track Forevergreen was just staggering, I have a strong love of Sci-fi and if you’ve heard the narration over the top of this track you’ll understand why I love it so much!

This, for me at least was an important cd, it introduced me to Messiah of which I have quite a few singles and the 21st Century Jesus Album (V.good, even now) and I bought the Sesame’s Treat single and the Finitribe single on hearing this. In 1992 I was 14.

1. Sesame’s Treat – Smart-e’s
2. Rave Alert (Full Alert Mix) – Praga Khan
3. A Trip To Trumpton – Urban Hype
4. Rhythm Is A Dancer – (Purple Hazed Mix) – Snap
5. L.S.I (Freaked Out V 1.02) The Shamen
6. On A Ragga Tip – SL2
7. Hypnotic ST-8 (ST-8 Of Art Edit) Altern-8
8. Please Don’t Go – KWS
9. Back To Front (The Rub It Radio Edit) Adamski
10. Temple of Dreams – Messiah
11. O.P.P – Naughty By Nature
12. Tell Me Why (M&M Mix) – Rachel Wallace
13. Hurt You So – Johnny L
14. Trip To The Moon (The Darksid) – Acen
15. Workaholic – 2 Unlimited
16. Forevergreen (Forevermost Excellent Edit) – Finitribe

Leave a comment