Journeys By DJ Vol.1 Billy Nasty – Total Records – 1993

Posted: August 5, 2012 in Dance Music, Electronic Music
Tags: , , ,

I’ve got to try and be serious for a minute, this CD was the first proper mix CD I ever found and it was and is without doubt spectacular! Little did I know at the time this would start a long relationship between me and the JDJ series of CDs, did they ever do a bad one?

Right here is what house music should sound like tune after tune of raw house mixed by a human who knows what he’s doing. You would not believe how good this still sounds, if you’ve never heard it, you really should try and find a copy, you will not be dissapointed. When Kinetic cuts in for the first time it’s like nothing else, such a simple track but so good. I could write a blog post on almost every track on this CD.

This CD for me set the standard, for around 2 years, until… well I won’t spoil the surprise. Everything after this somehow fell short, you start thinking if it can be done once, why not twice, three times. Don’t artists listen to each others stuff?

I never found anything else by Billy Nasty, which I regret.

1. Dance To The House – Face The Bass
2. Feel It – Pat Krimson
3. Kinetic – The Golden Girls
4. Drums At – The Roof Orchestra
5. Amnesia – Double FM
6. Uncle Bob’s Burly House – Uncle Bob
7. Drives Me Crazy – Outrage
8. People Livin’ Today – Semi Real
9. Burst – Grinjo
10. Tonto’s Drum – Eagles Prey
11. Carnival De Casa – Rio Rhythm Band
12. Shift – Havana
13. Song For Life – Leftfield
14. I’ll Trance You – Gypsy
15. Music Is Movin’ – Fargetta
16. Yerba Del Diablo – Datura
17. I Can’t – Steve Banzara
18. Jo’s Theme – Day Dreemer
19. Release The Dub – Leftfield

Leave a comment