Renaissance Masters Series Part 18 – Nick Warren – 2013

Posted: February 9, 2013 in Dance Music, Electronic Music
Tags: , ,

Renaissance Masters Series Part 18 - Nick Warren - 2013   Renaissance Masters Series Part 18 - Nick Warren - 2013

Renaissance Masters Series Part 18 - Nick Warren - 2013   Renaissance Masters Series Part 18 - Nick Warren - 2013

Another much anticipated release for me by Nick Warren, regular followers may have seen the count down timer I had running up to the release of this over on the left column, it takes quite a lot to get me excited usually but for this I was literally counting the days!

I’m going to let you all into a little secret now, Nick Warren’s music is the real reason I started Electronica Restoration, it was originally going to be called something else and be just about his releases. I figured that would be a nice little project to work on but then it grew and grew in my mind until it became what you see before you now.

I told you I found some old boxes in my garage with some CD’s missing, what I didn’t tell you was the panic and horror of realising that, amongst others it was Nick warren’s Global Underground #28 Shanghai and Global Underground #24 Reykjavik that were missing! They eventually turned up, thankfully, as even the second hand prices on those two are astronomical!

With this release Nick Warren has put something together which is truly sublime. Disc 1 is slow and smooth, this moves between chill out and blissed out, there are some incredible atmospheres and soundscapes on here Tripswitch’s ‘Still Seas’ being my pick a real shame it’s only 1:36 long, also DFRNT’s El Spirito has that ‘otherness’ sound to it that fits well here. James Munro’s ‘Ambientworkx7’ is another favourite of mine from this set. This is a lock the front door, lights off, headphones on disc for sure!

Disc 2  changes direction slightly into a more traditional dance mix but keeps the quality and the ‘feel’ of the first disc, the two definitely compliment each other. SimpliCity’s ‘Singing Or Speaking’ stands out for me, there’s a quote in that track that you should recognise, I won’t spoil it for you though. Sam Waller’s ‘I Pointi Pointi’, David Calo’s ‘Moving To Myself’ has a warm and deeply hypnotic quality to it, Tom Glass’s ‘Welcome To The Sun’ is probably my most listened to track across both CD’s. The back end of Disc 2 melds back into the familiar territory of progressive house with some really stunning tracks, which after the already excellent track selection is an added bonus.

My only regret with this release is that I didn’t buy it through Renaissance directly and so missed out on a signed copy! If only Id’ve known! Nevermind, there’s always next time.

Anyway, enough hero worshiping for one review I think, there’s only one course of action for you to take now, buy it, play it, love it!

Disc 1
1. Aurtas – Introduction
2. DFRNT – Nocturn Part 1 (feat. Annabelle Guilhem)
3. Tripswitch – Still Seas
4. Pedro Aguia – The Voices In My Head
5. I Awake – Labryinth
6. SCSI-9 – Ellsworth Land
7. DFRNT – El Spirito (Beatless Version)
8. Circular – City Pulse
9. Cell – Take Off
10. Terje Seather – Oia
11. Nick Warren – Buenos Aires (Luis Bondio Dub)
12. Trip Switch – Sick Teckers
13. Nick Warren – Devil’s Elbow
14. Excession – Amblight
15. Audioglider – Summer Rainstorm
16. Levente – Naja Haje (Amibient Mix)
17. Bubble Club – The Goddess
18. James Munro – Ambientworkx7
19. Yppah – Blue Schwinn

Disc 2
1. Levente – Tunneling
2. Cristian R – Deimos
3. Darren Flecta – In Moments
4. Darin Epsilon – Shine The Light
5. Levente – Csillagok
6. SimpliCity – Singing Or Speaking
7. Doomwork – All About
8. Sam Waller – I Pointi Pointi
9. Cesar Lombardi and Luis Bondio – Toro
10. David Calo – Moving To Myself
11. Tom Glass – Welcome To The Sun
12. Nicholas Ruiz and Marko Zalezar – Choir
13. Miraculum – Constellation
14. Verche – Corals

Leave a comment