Hernan Cattaneo – Sequential – Renaissance 2006

Posted: August 3, 2013 in Dance Music, Electronic Music, Progressive House
Tags: , ,

Hernan Cattaneo - Sequential - Renaissance 2006   Hernan Cattaneo - Sequential - Renaissance 2006
Hernan Cattaneo - Sequential - Renaissance 2006   Hernan Cattaneo - Sequential - Renaissance 2006
Hernan Cattaneo - Sequential - Renaissance 2006

I will start this post with an announcement – Electronica Restoration is One Year Old this week!

Yup, somehow I’ve managed to keep this up for a whole year already! I can’t believe how quick that has gone!. I should’ve planned an event, in fact this time next year if things are still looking good I might just do that, put on an ‘Electronica Restoration Summer Event’ or something, hmm… I will think about that, might need a few more followers first though 🙂

So to mark the occasion I thought I’d better pull out one of my big favourites, Hernan Cattaneo’s epic ‘Sequential’. Now this is how you put a mix CD together! Bought blind in a record shop (remember those?) on the strength of the Renaissance name, I resisted the temptation to listen to it straight away as it was intended as holiday music for two weeks in Greece coming up the following week.

O.K. so I had a bit of a listen to it but did manage to save it for the flight out. Often listening to a piece of music reminds you of where you were the first time you heard it and that was the plan with this and it worked, great music, great holiday. These CD’s got hammered the whole holiday and was constantly in the car for months when I got back!

The track selection on here is as good as I’ve ever heard anywhere, there are no fillers at all, and I really mean that. At worst the tracks are very good but the standout tracks are off the chart. The theme of both discs is melodic and progressive and there’s a lot of varied sounds. It’s a real treat if you’re tired of samey repetitive beats that seem to be doing the rounds at the moment, listening to this again as I write is refreshing after a glut of dissapointing new stuff I’ve had lately.

Paolo Mojo’s 1983 for me really steals the show on disc 1, there are a few versions in circulation but the best I think is the one on here. Even the examples on YouTube don’t seem to be quite the same and I have a remix of it on ‘Eric Pridz Presents Pryda’ which is unfortunately not quite as good as I’d hoped. Way Out West’s ‘Wonka’ is like nothing I’ve heard before or since, that used to get played… a lot!

On disc 2, it’s the same story, it’s all good! There’s a great selection of tracks, perhaps a bit deeper on disc 2 but very much in the same vein, melodic, progressive house what’s not to like? Nick Muir’s ‘I Feel Real’ hits the spot for me on disc 2, it’s like Sci-Fi Progressive House (could be a new sub-genre?) have a listen you’ll know what I mean.

I’ve bought most of Hernan’s other releases since this and for me nothing touches it for me, although the latest Masters Series came damn close.

Some people have commented that Sequential Vol.2 is better, and perhaps technically it is, but for me the original Sequential puts me straight back on Scala beach every time I hear it and there’s no arguing with that!

IMG_3831

I know I will regret posting this picture one day, (er yeah, today?), but what the hell, here’s me listening to this very mix looking a little sun burnt and playing up for the camera, blame the ouzo!

Disc 1
1. Gui Boratto – Arquipelago
2. Petersky – F**k Them All (Oliviero & MOS For The Ladies Remix)
3. Trafik – Thought Line
4. Tommyboy & Mannel – Feel It (Tommyboy & Mannel’s Renaissance Sequential Remix)
5. Mikael Delta – Baboo
6. Dousk – Florence
7. Rocco Mundo & Onno – Je T’Aime (Love Dub For Hernan) Hernan Cattaneo & Martin Garcia Feat. Peter K – Two Sides Of A   Story (Acapella)
8. Paolo Mojo 1983
9. Chris Llopis – Dize Moi (Rhythm Code Remix)
10. Randall Jones Present DJ’s Set You Free – With My Friends
11. Way Out West – Wonka
12. 16 Bit Lolita’s Feat. Jennifer Horne – Passing Lights
13. Phonique – For The Time Being Feat. Erlend Oye (Hernan Cattaneo & John Tonks Exclusive Sequential Remix)

Disc 2
1. Bushwacka! – Beastman
2. Trisco – Fashionista
3. Union Jack – Two Full Moons And A Trout (Luke Chable Remix)
4. Derek Howell – Cram It Up Your Cram Hole Slam – Human (Acapella)
5. 16 Bit Lolita’s – Destiny
6. Marco Bailey – Fatal Attraction (Instrumental Mix)
7. Mehta & Riedel – Obsessions (Kered vs. The Namboombu People Remix)
8. Dan Welton – Lisopain (The Pushers Sublingual Dub)
9. Brisker & Magitman – Other Dye (Perry O’Neil Remix)
10. Nick Muir – I Feel Real (Hernan Cattaneo Edit)
11. Eddie F – Breather
12. Hernan Cattaneo & John Tonks – Sirocco

Leave a comment